THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE YEAR

In Britain, it is fair to say that we don’t really get a proper summer. OK, so we do get a week, heck, two at most but it rarely lasts. The past week has seen the beginning of the British summer, with temperatures soaring up to 30 degrees. Yet the problem with this sudden appearance of the sun has resulted in many Brits panicking, what do I wear?

Even in the sticky British summertime, fashion does not have to take a back seat. It also doesn’t mean you have to abandon your personal style completely, just to say cool.

I wear a lot of black and white all year round – and I’ll be damned if I am not going to wear them in the summer. Remember, only the bravest wear black in the summer.

For the hottest day of the year, I decided upon my well-loved jelly platforms from ASOS. I picked these up last year and they were my godsend. They are super comfy and great for a long summer stroll. Unfortunately, they have been discontinued *enter really sad face here.*

I teamed my go to summer sandals with a Missguided smock dress. This dress is actually a cold shoulder dress but the sleeves tuck well into the side to create a flattering strappy smock.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This outfit is nothing without the accessories. Keeping it simple – and to avoid awkward tan lines, I decided to only accessorise with a belt and a small bag. My belt was £2 from Primark, with the chunky style being ideal for giving depth to the look, as well as highlighting the waist. Pairing the gold details of the belt with another Primark gem (£7 – bag) really ties the outfit together, making it appear more highend than it actually is.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

One thought on “THE HOTTEST DAY OF THE YEAR

Leave a Reply

