WHAT HAS MADE ME HAPPY IN THE PAST WEEK

Living in Britain, it has been extremely hard to feel happy about anything after the awful Manchester attack. The past week has been a tough one, after all, us Brits have seen the worst of humanity, but we have also been blessed with witnessing the best of humanity.

I want to focus on the positives of the past week – and there have been a few. I want to do this because even when the world appears sickening, little moments of happiness are a reminder of what is really important in life.

SOLIDARITY 

The horrific Manchester attack tore across Britain, affecting everyone. But the tales of solidarity and humanity have been a shining light in the darkest of times. People came together to offer support; through donating blood, clothes, money, offering lifts and places to stay as well as uniting against hatred. I have seen the worst of humanity this week, but I have also seen the best of humanity.

TRAMPOLINING

On Wednesday, I treated my best friends for their birthday present with a trip to a local trampoline park. We had the whole place to ourselves, our own guide and helper and we finished the day with a fabulous picnic and some Pretty Little Liars.

VICKY PARK 

Anyone from Leicester will know of Vicky Park. Actually called Victoria Park, the grassy escape is a favourite with students. On the hottest day of the year, I ventured to Vicky Park with my boyfriend for a picnic. Fanta fruit twist and Bombay mix? Hell yeah.

REGISTERING TO VOTE

I was super happy with how many young adults registered to vote on the final day. Over 200,000 18-24 year olds (and over 200,000 25-34 years olds) registered on May 22nd. Let’s hope this is a sign of things to come.

BADGES

I got a Labour badge this week to wear in the run up to the General Election. How cool is that?

“LOVE IS FOR EVERYONE”

My niece loves to write. She’s 6 years-old and writes all sorts down. She came round on Friday and wanted me to help her spell out a message. She started writing in bubble writing and to be honest, I wasn’t really paying attention as I was busy eating a salad sandwich. I glanced up to see she had written “Love is for everyone” in bright colours. It really warmed my heart.

One thought on “WHAT HAS MADE ME HAPPY IN THE PAST WEEK

Leave a Reply

