WHAT HAS MADE ME HAPPY IN THE PAST WEEK

Sadly, I have to begin this blog post on a downer for the second time in a row. In the past week, Britain has mourned after another horrific terrorist attack. The third since March.

However, like I said in my other blog post, I want to focus on the positives. So, here are some of the things in the past week that have made me happy.

BOWLING

I haven’t been bowling in years. Heck, the last time I played bowling was probably on the Wii. When the chance came to go bowling with my boyfriend and some of his friends, of course I took it. We bowled in style – we even hired out the VIP booth (extra £2 each!!!). To top the night off, I actually won. Still don’t know how I did it, but I’m totally going to milk it.

TWITTER COMPETITION 

On the same day as bowling, I actually won a Twitter competition to win a signed copy of My Name is Girl. I’ve wanted to buy the book for ages so I’m super happy I got it for free!!

ST MARTINS 

My favourite coffee shop in Leicester is, without a doubt, St Martins. Me and my boyfriend went there on a rainy Sunday. I got my usual avocado on sourdough toast, but decided to mix things up with an iced hazelnut cappuccino. Yum. Food.

INTERVIEW

On Monday, I had another real life job interview for a journalist role at a local newspaper. I have to wait ages to see if I was successful but the more interviews, the more experience!

ONE LOVE MANCHESTER

The One Love Manchester concert struck a cord with every Brit. It was so powerful and emotional, and truly showed how united we can be, and how music can be the tool to unite us.

1984 

In the past week, I started and even finished reading George Orwell’s 1984. It has left me wondering why I never picked it up earlier. Not only is it a super great read, but it also really highlights scary similarities between certain leaders and the horrific Big Brother.

 

Leave a Reply

